Yes standard way is to uninstall current software before installing the new version, though it's not mandatory.
User settings such as Java Synth soundbank will be automatically reused in the new version. Your songs should not be deleted.
Help us keep JJazzLab FREE: - Write about JJazzLab on social media, blogs, etc. - Subscribe to the YouTube channel - Like the videos - Post videos of your playing with JJazzLab - Share your .sng files on the forum